On January 17th, Dale Griffin, drummer and founding member of Mott the Hoople sadly passed aged 67 away after a struggle with Alzheimer’s disease.

Best known for their hit song All the Young Dudes, written by David Bowie after he learned that the band were thinking of splitting due to a lack of commercial success, it became known as one of glam rock’s anthems.

After disbanding, it is understood that all Dale wanted was for the band to eventually reform, which they did in 2009, but due to illness, he was unable to play the full shows, only appearing in the encores.

Griffin also helped produce some of John Peel’s radio sessions for the BBC from 1981 to 1994, including bands such as Pulp, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins and Carcass.

Terence Dale Griffin, 1948 – 2016

Rest In Peace

Header Photo Credit: Chris Walter, Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s